Sunday set up an incredible stage for the inaugural Brisbane Premier League Grand Final. Earlier in the day, the Darling Dingoes beat the Northern Kings, while the Gold Coast Waveriders were victors in an incredible run chase over the top of the table Moreton Magic. The toss set up the entire match, with both teams preferring to bowl first and chase. It was the Darling Dingoes winning the toss, with captain Steve McGiffin electing to bowl.

Bowling first looked the right call again as skipper Steve McGiffin struck early, taking 3/26 in his first spell, including the wicket of in-form Hugo Burdon. McGiffin couldn’t stop Waveriders opener Addy Grewal with the ball, but took the catch removing the devastating Grewal who smashed 47 runs from 24 balls with four 4’s and four 6’s.

Nikhil Chaudhary came to the middle and took it to the Dingoes in a massive way, scoring 68 runs from 33 balls with two 4’s and six 6’s, including an incredible four 6’s in one over. Connor Carroll steered the ship to end the innings, scoring 42 runs off 31 balls.

Steve McGiffin led the way for the Dingoes with the ball taking four wickets in total, while Michael Topp and Blake Maher got two each. Despite the efforts with the ball of the Dingoes, the Gold Coast Waveriders set a mammoth total of 9/199 from their 20 overs.

After starring with the bat, Nikhil Chaudhary called on the spinners of the Waveriders as the key to winning the grand final.

Dingoes opener Brandon Faber got his side off to a flyer, scoring a blistering 36 runs from 16 balls with two 6’s and five 4’s. His dismissal, along with Aryan Jain early, brought Dingoes big guns Sam Truloff and Steve McGiffin to the crease.

Slater Asnicar was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3/22 from his four overs, removing Sam Truloff, Steve McGiffin and Blake Maher along the way. Nikhil Chaudhary complimented Asnicar well in partnership, helping reduce the Dingoes to 6/93 at the 12 over mark.

Captain Harry McNeilly took three wickets for himself at the death, but no one could stop Brendan McNae when he came to the crease. McNae gave everything to try and win it for the Dingoes, thrashing 40 runs from 15 balls without dismissal, including five 4’s and two 6’s. But with wickets falling around him, McNae’s valiant efforts weren’t enough.

The Gold Coast Waveriders bowled out the Darling Dingoes for 160 runs from 19.1 overs. Winning by 39 runs, the Waveriders secured the inaugural Brisbane Premier League title.

Jack Hudson

Jack Hudson